Crowns image

What is an Australian Crown?

Australian Crowns were produced at the Melbourne Mint following the coronation of King George VI in 1937 as well as 1938 and are the largest denomination in our pre-decimal coin series.

Considering the Australian Commonwealth Treasurers advocacy for the issuing of the crowns in 1937, the nickname Caseys Cartwheels were donned upon the silver coins after a poor reception from the public, due to their weight in contrast to other everyday change.

The popularity of these silver coins was so shockingly low, that the mintage of crowns in 1938 was one tenth of the 1,008,000 original mintage in 1937.

We are always buying and selling a wide range of Australian pre-decimal coins, so whether you are starting a new collection or filling the gaps in an existing collection we have the knowledge and know-how to get the job done. 

2 Products Found