We Regularly Deal in Rare Australian Proclamation Coins

Australia's Proclamation and Colonial Coins (1788 ~ 1826) image

The Coinage of Colonial Australia Book

Proclamation coins are the 10 coins specifically declared legal tender by NSW Governor Gidley King on November 18th 1800. Colonial coins are those known to have been used in colonial NSW between 1788 and 1826 but were not covered by King’s proclamation.

King’s proclamation was the first comprehensive legal act covering coinage on the Australian continent, this series is the starting point for collectors interested in Australia’s earliest coins.

They were the lifeblood of our national economy at a time when our economic foundations were being laid.





7 Products Found

Our staff have written a number of detailed articles on the many different kinds of coins that we handle, a number of them have been published in the Australasian Coin and Banknote magazine. We've also written a number of articles to help collectors on their way to building a collection of coins that has real meaning and lasting value.

Some of the articles we've published include:

What Is A Proclamation Coin?

Proclamation Coins - Far More Complex Than We First Thought!

Australia's History 1788 - 1931 Viewed Via Our Coins